The National Telecommunications Commission

The Commission was established by an Act of Parliament in 2006, as amended in 2009.  The Commission comprises a Chairman and six others who are appointed by His Excellency the President,  subject to the approval of Parliament.  The main function of the Commission is to licence and regulate the activities of telecommunications operators so as to promote efficiency, fair competition, expansion of investment in the sector, development of the sector and the protection of users of telecommunications networks and services.  The Ministry makes ICT policies which should be applied by all, including the Commission.